Why joining ?

The charter contains a number of values and engagements regarding the practice of Argentinean Tango. To sign the Charter means that one supports these values and considers them important enough to accept the engagement proposed by the Charter.
The values and the engagements proposed in the Charter are the result of a collective undertaking in the summer of 2008. If the work was originally sponsored by several associations, the Charter is inviting the participation of anyone, artists, dancers, musicians, organizers any and all individual and group interested in this culture, worldwide.

Signing the Charter, supporting these values, respecting its engagements are all personal matters. There is no Charter court to fear, no rite of initiation,  no obedience, or pledge of any sort toward anyone. This site only aims at keeping a record of the NUMBER of signatures.

This site also offers the secondary wish for a solidarity network. The solidarity will be expressed through the answer to delicate questions such as : “how do we proceed when an association or teachers are threatened” ; one will have to belong to the network in order to benefit from this solidarity Happy

Pourquoi adhérer ?

La charte contient un certain nombre de valeurs et d'engagements à propos de la pratique du tango argentin. Signer la charte signifie que l'on adhère à ces valeurs, et qu'on les considère comme suffisamment importantes pour accepter les engagements proposés par la charte.
Les valeurs et les engagements énoncés dans la charte sont issus d'un travail collectif mené pendant l'été 2008. Il se trouve que ce travail été lancé à l'origine par des acteurs associatifs, mais au final la charte s'adresse plus largement à tous ceux qui, à quelque titre que ce soit, artistes, danseurs, organisateurs, s'intéressent à cette culture.

La signature de la charte, l'adhésion à ces valeurs, le respect des engagements pris sont tous affaires personnelles, il n'y a pas de tribunal de la charte à redouter, ni de rite initiatique à remplir, ni d'obéissance due à quiconque du fait de signer la charte. Ce site assure simplement la comptabilité des signatures.

De manière pragmatique, ce site a pour second objectif de répondre au souhait d'un réseau solidaire. La solidarité s'exprimera par la réponse à des questions délicates - du style: comment faire quand une association/des professeurs sont menacés ? - mais il faudra faire partie du réseau pour bénéficier de la solidarité Happy